

#### **Federal Election Brief**

The next Australian federal election will be held on Saturday, 03 May. In line with tradition, on Friday, 28 March, the Prime Minister requested, and the Governor-General dissolved the House of Representatives and made instruction for the issuing of the writs. The election will be for 150 seats in the House of Representatives and for a 'half Senate election' for 6 of the 12 senators in each of the 6 states and for the two senators in each of the ACT and Northern Territory.

#### **House of Representatives and the Senate**

Federally, Members of the House of Representatives are elected to three-year terms. Senators representing the states are elected to six-year terms, with half being elected every three years. The four Territory senators are elected for 3-year terms. Senators commence their term on 1 July following a general election.

There is no constitutional requirement that elections for the House of Representatives and state Senators be held simultaneously. These elections are however, generally held concurrently primarily to avoid the duplication of costs.

### House of Representatives Overview (based on notional redistribution)

Total	Majority	ALP	Coalition (Liberal/National)	Crossbench
seats	required	Seats	Seats	Seats
150	76	78	55	17

#### Senate Overview

Total	Seats up for	ALP	Coalition (LNP)	Crossbench
Seats	Election	Seats	Seats	Seats
76	40	25	30	20

#### **Changes to Electoral Boundaries**

The current parliament has 151 seats, but the next will revert back to 150 seats. The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) announced electoral redistributions which have taken effect from the 4<sup>th</sup> of March, notably:

- NSW: North Sydney electorate abolished (currently held by Independent Kylea Tink).
- VIC: Higgins electorate abolished (currently held by ALP's Dr. Michelle Ananda-Rajah).
- WA: A new electorate, Bullwinkel, created. This is notionally held by the ALP.
- NT: Changes to boundaries



### **Key election dates**

Once an election is called, there is a minimum campaign period of 33 days prior to election day which occurs on a Saturday. The dates for pre poll are yet to be announced by the AEC, it is expected to be around 2 weeks prior to the election day.

	Days after writs (Minimum)	Days after writs (Maximum)
Close of rolls	7 days	7 days
Close of nominations	10 days	27 days
Declaration of nominations	11 days	28 days
Start of early voting	21 days	33 days
Election day	33 days	58 days
Return of writs		100 days

#### Leaders

The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP

Position	Prime Minister	
	Leader of the Australian Labor Party (ALP)	
Electorate	Grayndler (NSW)	
Political Background	Albanese has led the ALP since 2019 and	
	became Prime Minister following the 2022	
	Federal Election. He has previously served as	
	Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional	
	Development and Local Government and Deputy	
	Prime Minister and Minister for Broadband,	
	Communications and the Digital Economy.	



The Hon. Peter Dutton MP

Position	Leader of the Opposition	
	Leader of the Liberal National Coalition	
Electorate	Dickson (QLD)	
Political Background	Dutton has led the Coalition since the 2022 election. He has previously served in multiple ministerial roles, including Home Affairs and	
	Defence.	





State/Territory	ALP Senators	LNP Senators	GRN Senators	IND/Other Senators
QLD	Nita Green	Susan McDonald	Larissa Waters	Malcolm Roberts (ON)
QLD	INITA OFFEET	Paul Scarr	Lalissa Waters	Gerard Rennick (IND)
	Tim Ayres	Andrew Bragg		
NSW	Tony Sheldon	Perin Davey	Mehreen Faruqi	_
	Tony Sheldon	Hollie Hughes		
	Varun Ghosh	Matt O'Sullivan	Jordan Steele-	
WA	Louise Pratt	Slade Brockman	John	-
		Linda Reynolds	JOHN	
VIC	Raff Ciccone	Jane Hume	Steph Hodgins-	David Van (IND)
	Jess Walsh	James Paterson	May	,
NT	Malarndirri McCarthy	Jacinta Nampijinpa Price	-	-
ACT	Katy Gallagher	-	-	David Pocock (IND)
SA	Karen Grogan	Alex Antic	Sarah Hanson-	
	Marielle Smith	David Fawcett		-
	Marielle Smith	Anne Ruston	Young	
TAS	Catryna Bilyk	Claire Chandler	NI alc Mal/ir-	Jacqui Lambie
IAS	Carol Brown	Richard Colbeck	Nick McKim	(JLN)

# **Marginal Seats by Party**

# ALP Marginal Seats (≤5%)

Seat	State	Margin
Gilmore	NSW	0.2%
Lyons	TAS	0.9%
Lingiari	NT	0.9%
Bennelong	NSW	1.0%
Robertson	NSW	2.3%
Tangney	WA	2.4%
Boothby	SA	3.3%
McEwen	VIC	3.3%
Paterson	NSW	3.3%
Hunter	NSW	4.0%
Parramatta	NSW	4.6%

# Liberal/National Marginal Seats (≤5%)

Seat	State	Margin



Deakin	VIC	0.2%
Sturt	SA	0.5%
Moore	WA	0.9%
Menzies	VIC	0.7%
Bass	TAS	1.4%
Casey	VIC	1.5%
Dickson	QLD	1.7%
Cowper	NSW	2.3%
Aston	VIC	2.8%
Monash	VIC	2.9%
Longman	QLD	3.1%

# Independent Marginal Seats (≤5%)

Seat	Party	State	Margin
Curtin	IND	WA	1.3% vs LIB
Fowler	IND	NSW	1.6% vs ALP
Mackellar	IND	NSW	2.5% vs LIB
Goldstein	IND	VIC	2.9% vs LIB
Kooyong	IND	VIC	2.9% vs LIB
Wentworth	IND	NSW	4.2% vs LIB

# Greens Marginal Seats (≤5%)

Seat	Party	State	Margin
Ryan	GRN	QLD	2.6% vs LNP
Brisbane	GRN	QLD	3.7% vs LNP