

## **ACT Elections**

On Saturday the 19<sup>th</sup> October, The Australian Capital Territory held its Legislative Assembly election. The Labor Party secured a seventh consecutive term, governing since 2001. The ACT elects its 25-member legislative assembly through the Hare-Clarke system, a form of proportional representation. 5 members are elected across five electorates; Brindabella, Ginninderra, Kurrajong, Murrumbidgee, and Yerrabi. To form a majority government, a party needs to secure at least 13 seats.

On Wednesday 30<sup>th</sup> October 2024, the following results were formally declared:

Electorate	Labor	Liberal	Greens	Independent
Brindabella	Caitlin Tough	Mark Parton	Laura Nuttall	
	Taimus Werner-Gibbings	Deborah Morris		
Ginninderra	Tara Cheyne	Peter Cain	Jo Clay	
	Yvette Berry	Chiaka Barry		
Kurrajong	Andrew Barr	Elizabeth Lee	Shane Rattenbury	Thomas Emerson
	Rachel Stephen-Smith			(Independant's for Canberra)
Murrumbidgee	Chris Steel	Jeremy Hanson		Fiona Carrick
	Marissa Paterson	Ed Cocks		(Fiona Carrick Independent)
Yerrabi	Michael Petterson	Leanne Castley	Andrew Braddock	
	Suzanne Orr	James Milligan		
Total	10	9	4	2

The Labor Party recieved 34.1%, Liberal Party received approximately 33.5%, the Greens received 12.2%, Independents for Canberra garnered about 8.5% and Other candidates held 11.7%. This configuration results in a hung parliament, as no party has achieved the 13-seat majority required to form majority government. The two independent members, along with the Greens, are anticipated to play pivotal roles in determining the passage of the Government agenda.

On Thursday the 31<sup>st</sup> of October 2024, The Liberal Party conducted a leadership ballot with incumbent Deputy Leader Leanne Castley MLA defeating Opposition Leader Elizabeth Lee MLA. Former Liberal leader Jeremy Hanson MLA was elected as Deputy Leader.

After negotiations between Labor and the Greens, the Greens decided to not continue in a coalition arrangement with Labor, relinquishing their three cabinet portfolios. The Greens crossbench have provided the Barr Labor Government confidence and supply. Independents for Canberra MLA, Thomas Emerson, has agreed to provide confidence and supply to Barr, discussions are ongoing with Murrumbidgee Independent MLA, Fiona Carrick.

On the Thursday the 7<sup>th</sup> of November 2024, Chief Minister Andrew Barr announced his front bench with all incumbent members of the Labor caucus forming Cabinet. Michael Petterson MLA and Marissa Paterson MLA joined cabinet for the first time alongside Suzanne Orr who returns. The newly elected Brindabella MLAs, Caitlin Tough and Taimus Werner-Gibbings, will form the Labor backbench and serve across various committees. The full Ministry is listed below.

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton Managing Director Simon Banks on sbanks@hawkerbritton.com.





## **ACT Cabinet**

Minister	Title		
Andrew Barr MLA	Chief Minister		
	Minister for Economic Development		
	Minister for Tourism and Trade		
Yvette Berry MLA	Deputy Chief Minister		
-	Minister for Education and Early Childhood		
	Minister for Homes and New Suburbs		
	Minister for Sport and Recreation		
Rachel Stephen-Smith MLA	Minister for Health		
	Minister for Mental Health		
	Minister for Finance		
	Minister for the Public Service		
Chris Steel MLA	Treasurer		
	Minister for Planning and Sustainable Development		
	Minister for Heritage		
	Minister for Transport		
Tara Cheyne MLA	Manager of Government Business		
	Attorney-General		
	Minister for Human Rights		
	Minister for City and Government Services		
	Minister for the Night-Time Economy		
Suzanne Orr MLA	Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs		
	Minister for Climate Change, Environment, Energy and Water		
	Minister for Disability, Carers and Community Services		
	Minister for Seniors and Veterans		
Michael Pettersson MLA	Minister for Business, Arts and Creative Industries		
	Minister for Children, Youth and Families		
	Minister for Multicultural Affairs		
	Minister for Skills, Training and Industrial Relations		
Marisa Patterson MLA	Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services		
	Minister for Women		
	Minister for the Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence		
	Minister for Corrections		
	Minister for Gaming Reform		

