## The New Senate from 1 July 2011

The Senate consists of 76 Senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. In order for a motion to be passed in the Senate, a 50 per cent plus 1 majority must be achieved (i.e. 39 votes). A motion can be defeated if the votes are divided equally (i.e. 50 per cent or 38 votes).

On 1 July 2011, changes to the Senate resulting from the 2010 election will come into effect. As a result of these changes, the Greens will hold the balance of power in the Senate. The make-up of the new Senate is detailed below:

Future Senate (from 1 July 2011)	No. of Seats
Liberal Party	29 (Coalition 34)
Nationals	4
Country Liberal Party	1
ALP	31
Greens	9
Democratic Labor Party (DLP)	1
Independent (Xenophon)	1

The new Senate will sit for the first time from Monday 4 July to Thursday 7 July.

## The twelve senators-elect are:

- 1. Matthew Thistlethwaite (ALP) NSW
  - B.Ec., LLB; Solicitor, General Secretary of NSW Labor from 2008, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Unions NSW 2004-08; married with two children.
- 2. Lee Rhiannon (Green) NSW
  - B.Sc.; Greens MP in NSW Upper House from 1999-2010, founder of AID/WATCH; partner and three adult children.
- 3. Bridget McKenzie (NP) Victoria
  - B.App.Sc., B.Ed.; Education lecturer, Monash University; four children.
- 4. Richard Di Natale (Green) Victoria
  - MBBS, Masters in Public Health, Masters in Health Sciences; public health specialist, drug and alcohol clinician; married with two children.



5. John Madigan (DLP) – Victoria

Blacksmith; married with two children.

6. Larissa Waters (Green) - Queensland

B.Sc., LLB; Solicitor, community environmental lawyer; partner and one child.

7. Alex Gallacher (ALP) – South Australia

Secretary of Transport Workers' Union, Director of Motor Accident Tribunal (SA)

8. Sean Edwards (LP) - South Australia

President of the Liberal Party's South Australian Division; Winemaker; married with four children.

9. David Fawcett (LP) - South Australia

B.Sc.; Former Member for Wakefield, Lieutenant Colonel in the Australian Defence Force, pilot; married with two children.

10. Penny Wright (Green) - South Australia

LLB; Deputy President of the South Australian Guardianship Board, mediator, solicitor; married with three children.

11. Lisa Singh (ALP) - Tasmania

B.A.; CEO Asbestos Free Tasmania Foundation, Former state member for Denison; two children.

12. Anne Urquhart (ALP) - Tasmania

President of Unions Tasmania, State Secretary of AMWU Tasmania, Organiser at Food Preservers' Union; married with two children and four grandchildren.

For more information on the senators elect, click <u>here</u>.

On 26 June 2011, the Leader of the Greens Senator Bob Brown released details of his party's new portfolio arrangements which will come into effect from 1 July. Details are available here.

The following twelve senators will finish their term on 30 June 2010:

- 1. Senator Michael Forshaw (ALP) Senator for NSW since 1999
- 2. Senator Steve Hutchins (ALP) Senator for NSW since 1999
- 3. Senator Julian McGauran (LP) Senator for Victoria from 1987-1990, and again since 1993
- 4. Senator the Hon. Judith Troeth (LP) Senator for Victoria since 1993
- 5. Senator Steve Fielding (Family First) Senator for Victoria since 2005
- 6. Senator Russell Trood (LNP) Senator for Queensland since 2005
- 7. Senator Annette Hurley (ALP) Senator for South Australia since 2005
- 8. Senator Dana Wortley (ALP) Senator for South Australia since 2005
- 9. Senator the Hon. Alan Ferguson (LP) Senator for South Australia since 1993
- 10. Senator the Hon. Nick Minchin (LP) Senator for South Australia since 1993
- 11. Senator Kerry O'Brien (ALP) Senator for Tasmania since 1999
- 12. Senator Guy Barnett (LP) Senator for Tasmania since 2005

For more information, contact your Hawker Britton consultant.

